I am always amazed at the power of Arborio rice to absorb so much liquid. Just 1/2 cup of rice and it soaks up FOUR cups of milk!! FOUR CUPS!! Amazing!!

I have made rice pudding before. I made it for CEinMB with pumpkin. It was the first time I had made it and it worked! Cause the first time I made it – it was a sad mess!! But I finally figured it all out! So now I am actually comfortable making it. Like this week for French Fridays with Dorie. After 40 minutes I had a sweet moist rice pudding to serve with Dorie’s tasty Caramel Apples.


Oh, it’s so good. Actually the pudding is just pudding, but Those. Caramelized. Apples!! I ate could have eaten those with a spoon. Dorie has them in an apple cider caramel which added so much extra flavor. Sugar, butter, cream, apple cider make up the sauce. I didn’t have any apple cider so I used some slightly diluted boiled apple cider I had made earlier.

The recipe is on page 429 of Dorie’s around my French table.

Stop by French Fridays with Dorie and check out the other Dorista’s puddings.