Which is a fancy way to say APPLESAUCE AND TURNOVERS! So much better in French, don’t you think.

I almost didn’t make this. We are not big lovers of applesauce. I had plenty of apple butter but the idea of the turnovers swayed me right into the kitchen. Since I knew I was making the turnovers, I decided to leave the apple sauce VERY chunky.


VERY chunky! And that bowl of goodness became….


Sprinkled with a little sugar they were the perfect biteful of sweet for dessert.

I only made 1/2 of the total recipe and that gave me 12 little apple puffs. And I am forever grateful to MOM for gifting me these


many many years ago. Makes turnovers {and meat pies} so simple to make!!

Check out the other compote de pommes by visiting with French Fridays with Dorie’s Bakers and Cooks.

The recipe is on page 392 of Dorie’s around my french table.