You could make a tart and the day would be happy. At least my day. There are so many ways to make a tart. Sweet. Svory. Veggie. Meat. Apple. Cheese. The possibilities are endless. And that is the problem with this week’s theme for I Heart Cooking Club. I had my heart set on Donna’s Maple Cream Tart. I had all the ingredients. Then I made B a coconut cake. And then a Bundt for National Bundt Day so I really didn’t need anything else sweet in the house. Savory it is.


    lentil and goat’s cheese tarts
    150g (5 oz) du puy orange lentils
    6 sheets filo pastryI used regular pie crust
    50g (1 1/2 oz) butter, melted
    500g (16 oz) ricotta
    4 eggs
    1 1/2 cups (12 fl oz) milk
    1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley
    cracked black pepper and sea salt
    120g (4 oz) goat’s cheese, sliced

Place the lentils in a saucepan of boiling water and cook for 15 minutes or until tender. Drain and set aside.
Preheat the oven to 160°C (325°F). Cut the cut crust into circles for 6″ tarts. Line 8 greased 1/2 cup (4 fl oz) capacity tart dishes with the pastry, folding to fit the edges in the dishes.
To make the filling, mix the ricotta, eggs and milk in a food processor until smooth. Place in a bowl and stir through the cooked lentils, parsley, pepper and salt. Pour the mixture into the pastry shells and top with the goat’s cheese. Bake for 30 minutes or until the filling is set. Serve warm. Serves 4.
• You can also use blue cheese or aged cheddar.

As you can see I did make some changes to fit our tstes. The goat cheese I used was herb and garlic which really added great flavor to the tarts.

I made 4 mini tarts and one larger 1 cup capacity with cheddar cheese on top.


I liked the one with goat cheese better. Probably because it had the herb and garlic.

Donna’s original recipe is on page 76 of off the shelf

Check out what tarts the other IHCC participants made.IHCC Donna Hay Badge resized