I live in the South. We eat a lot of rice in the south. A lot of rice. And usually a long grain type of rice. But in the past few years we have discovered other types of rice. Jasmine. Brown. Basmati. Brown Basmati. Even Black rice. THAT one I haven’t cooked yet but I have it. Basmati has become one of our favorites. I am always glad to find new ways to use it. Like this dish from Madhur Jaffrey.

P1030601

Rice, onions, mushrooms, cumin. The ingredient list is short, but The rice is very tasty.

    2 cups Basmati rice
    4 Tbl oil
    1/2 tsp cumin seeds
    1 medium onion, finely chopped
    4 medium mushrooms, finely chopped
    1 tsp salt
    2 cups water

Wash the rice several times and drain.
Heat the oil in a heavy saucepan with a tight fitting lid over medium heat. When hot, put in the cumin seeds. Stir and fry for a few seconds. Put in the onion and sauté for a few minutes until onion is soft. Add the mushrooms and sauté for another 2 or 3 minutes. Add in drained rice and salt. Saute for a 3 to 4 minutes. Add two cups of water and bring to a boil. Cover, turn heat to low and cook for 25 minutes or until rice is done.


This was a perfect simple side for any dish. When I make it again I will double the cumin. And I would use more salt. This time I made 1/2 of the recipe but used the same amount of mushrooms. Recipe from The Madhur Jaffrey Cookbook page 163

This is potluck week with I Heart Cooking Club so we can cook with Donna Hay, or current chef, or with anyone else whose dishes we have been enjoying. I chose to cook, again, with Madjur Jaffrey. So many of her dishes I still want to try. Check with the other IHCC members and see what they made for potluck.