I am always on the lookout for new ways to make easy delicious food. Thank goodness for Donna Hay and her wonderfully easy and delicious recipes. Like this one. MEAT PIES . Which was my pick for this week’s Wednesday with Donna Hay.


Meat pies filled with steak, tomatoes, red wine. How can you beat that? Topped with Puff Pastry. Yeah, that makes it even better. However, I didn’t have any puff pastry so I used filo.


NOT a good idea. So I took off some of the top and it was sooo good. My meat was a mix of beef stew and venison stew meat. It’s hunting season so we have lots of venison. I use it a lot this thime of the year.

This is now my go to recipe for stew as well. I just increase the ingredients and add potatoes, carrots, and barley. The recipe is on page 161 of Donna’s Modern ClassicsL Book 1

Check in with Chaya, Gaye, and Sarah for their comfort food this week – Meat Pies.