This week the ladies with I Heart Cooking Clubs are getting really SAUCY!! But I don’t mean the cheeky, jaunty kind. I mean the kind where one makes a sauce and then uses that sauce for something TASTY!!

So many choices with Donna……

But I have been making her Classic Tomato Sauce for quite a while now as well as her Basic Bolognese Sauce both of which are really, really good. When I make either one I make large batches and freeze them in various amounts.


Bolognese Sauce

    2 teaspoons olive oil
    2 cloves garlic, chopped
    2 onions, chopped
    1kg minced beef
    2 x 400g cans tomato puree
    1 cup (250ml) beef stock
    ¼ cup chopped flat-leaf parsley leaves
    sea salt and cracked black pepper

Heat a deep frying pan or saucepan over high heat. Add the oil, garlic and onion and cook for 3 minutes or until just soft. Add the mince and cook, stirring, until brown. Add the tomato puree and stock and rapidly simmer for 10–15 minutes or until thickened to your liking. Stir through the parsley, salt and pepper. {Sometimes I add a little red wine. Or use ground pork or ground venison.}

The sauce can be used in spaghetti or lasagna or….


    ….with just a little pasta for a quick lunch.

The recipe is also in Donna’s modern classics: Book 1 on page 132

All of the ladies are saucy this week so visit with my cheeky friends over at