There is just something about the flavor of Hoisin sauce. It is sweet but not SWEET. A little bit may go along way. But then, sometimes you cannot get enough of it in your dish. The balance in this dish of Donna’s was just right. Donna’s stir fried noodles called for 3 Tbl of hoisin and 1/4 cup soy sauce. I increased the hoisin just a tad and decreased the Soy sauce just a tad. PERFECT!


All you have to do is sautee some shredded ginger with some peppers, add the hoisin and soy and sugar and let it cook just a little. Then toss in the cooked wheat noodles {I used SOBA noodles} and let them ‘fry’ for a few seconds..

As for the Crispy chicken. Rice flour, 5 Spice and salt for the dredge with a quick fry in a little oil – shallow fry – to a golden brown. Serve it with the stir fry noodles.


Using rice flour instead of regular flour makes for a very light, almost tempura like fry. And with the addition of the 5 Spice adds tons of flavor. I only wish I had increased the amount of 5 Spice. But next time. There are also supposed to be Asian greens, which I could NOT find in Podunk, USA, so left them out completely. I found out later I could have used Bok Choy or other cabbage. Ah, well!

The recipe is on page 62 of Donna’s off the shelf

Click on over and visit with Gaye, whose pick this was, and Sarah for their noodles and chicken.