Visit…what? Interesting! A white cake. A little like a sponge cake. A good base for just about anything you might want. According to Nick Malgierei,

    “The cakes don’t derive from an ancient Hebrew recipe, but were originated in the convent of a community of French nuns called the Sisters of the Visitation, colloquially known in French as the “Visitandines.”

Just an interesting tidbit. I wondered why they were called Visitandines.

Easy to make I ended up with three 4 1/2″ ‘tarts’ from the full recipe.


I just think the fluted sides make a cake rather elegant. I plan to use one for Strawberry Shortcake

and will figure out what to do with the other two later. Ice Cream Sundae? Little Frosted Cake? We’ll see!! {But had to go out of town unexpectedly so all you have for now is cake. I’ll let you know what I use them for!}

The recipe is on page 436 of Dorie’s around my french table

And see what the other Doristas did with their Visitandines.