I am slow getting started with this round of IHCC. Nigel Slater is the new chef until the end of September. I am excited to try some of his recipes, but not just yet! This week is Potluck Week. Since I missed cooking with Mark Bittman early in the group’s life I want to do his recipes for PotLuck. I read his bok, FOOD MATTERS ages ago and have lots of recipes marked. Seemed a logical choice.

Starting with someting sweet and SUGAR FREE.


    1 cup sugar Splenda
    1 1/2 cups shredded unsweetened coconut
    1 1/2 cups chopped nuts {I used pecans}
    4 egg whites [about 130 gms], {I would use a few more grams next time} lightly beaten until just foamy
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    Pinch salt

Heat the oven to 350°F.
Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well with a rubber spatula or your hands.
Use a nonstick baking sheet, or line a baking sheet with parchment
paper. Use a small cookie scoop and make balls with the mixture,
each measuring about 1 tablespoon. Place balls on the pre-
pared sheet about an inch apart.
Bake for about 15 minutes until golden brown. Remove the cookies from the oven and let cool on a rack for at least 30’minutes Store in an airtight container.

I remember Mom making a cookie like this when I was little.


They didn’t last long around our house because we all loved coconut and pecans.

Check out the other POTLUCKS with the IHCC members.