One of my favorite things for breakfast, or lunch, is a nice simple omelet. Mostly eggs and cheese. Or maybe some shrooms and spinach. I don’t like lots of things in my omelet. So thank you, Donna, for giving me another simple but delicious omelet to add to my rotation.

P1040065 Eggs, shitake shrooms, green onions with shredded ginger and oyster sauce is all you need. Like I said, simple! I have made this a couple of times. The first time it came out more like scrambled eggs. The second time was better and a little more photo worthy.

Donna said to make one at a time, 4 servings, but I was just making one for me so I did it all in the skillet on top of the stove rather than finishing it in the oven.

Asian Mushroom Omelet for just one.

    1 teaspoons sesame oil
    1/2 tablespoon vegetable oil
    1 teaspoon grated ginger
    75g shiitake mushrooms, thickly ficed
    2 green onions (scallions), thinly sliced
    2 eggs, lightly beaten with 1/4 cup Egg Beaters
    oyster sauce, to serve

Heat a small non-stick frying pan over high heat. Add the sesame oil, vegetable oil, ginger, green onion and mushroom and cook for 2–3 minutes or until mushroom is golden. Remove from pan and wipe out pan (or use another pan).
Spray pan with nonstick spray and pour in the beaten egg and stir gently for 1 minute. Reduce the heat to low and cook, without stirring, for 3 – 4 minutes. Place the omelet in the oven and cook for 3 minutes or until omelet is almost set. Place mushroom mix over the top and let eggs set completely.
To serve, place on serving plate and drizzle with oyster sauce.

Told you it was simple. And very, very good. The ginger is subtle, the oyster sauce slightly salty. They blend together quite well.

Check with

for their omelets.

Almost forgot, the omelet was my pick for this weeks Wednesdays with Donna Hay. IF you want to join us just leave one of us a comment.

The original recipe is on Donna’s Website.