BEETS!! A nice purple color. Keep the juice to dye Easter Eggs and throw away the beets. AT least that is what I usually do. Except this time I used the beets and threw away the juice {It was after Easter}. I NEVER buy beets fresh or otherwise. I have tried them. I don’t care for them. Or brussel sprouts! But I am willing to try new things. Like Nigel’s Beet Cake.


    200g/7oz butter, plus extra for greasing
    250g/9oz cooked and peeled beetroot {I used canned beets}
    200g/7oz dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids)
    4 tbsp hot espresso
    135g/5oz plain flour
    1 heaped tsp baking powder
    3 tbsp cocoa powder
    5 free-range eggs, separated
    190g/6½oz golden caster sugar {About 1 cup fake sugar}
    crème fraîche or double cream, to serve

Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4.
Spray a 20cm/8in cake tin {Since I made ½ of the recipe I used a 6”} generously and line the bottom of the tin with a round of baking parchment.
Blend the beetroot in a food processor to a rough purée.
Melt the chocolate in the microwave, then add in the hot coffee.
Stir in the butter in small pieces and leave to soften. Then allow to partially cool.
Sift the flour, baking powder and cocoa together in a bowl and set aside.
Separate the eggs. Whisk the yolks until frothy and then stir into the chocolate and butter mixture.
Fold in the beetroot.
Whisk the egg whites until still peaks form when the whisk is removed. Fold in the sugar.
Fold the sugar and egg whites into the chocolate mixture, then fold in the flour and cocoa mixture.
Pour the batter into the cake pan. Bake for about 30/40 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the cake comes out clean.
Cool the cake in the pan.
Remove and serve with whipped cream or dust with powdered sugar.


    The cake was moist, somewhat dense, but airy at the same time. No beet taste, but rather bland. I would add more cocoa and a smidgeon more sugar. I dusted with some powdered sugar but later I added some chocolate ganache. That sweetened up the treat quite nicely.

    Original Recipe

BTW this weeks theme for I Heart Cooking Clubs is Rootie Patootie! which means we needed to use a ROOT VEGGIE for our dish. Which is why I made BEET cake!! So click on over and see what other roots appeared on our menu this week.