Muffins are always a hit. Especially Blueberry Muffins. I do love a good blueberry muffin. Now add in some oats and some yogurt and you have a muffin that is hard to pass by and not eat one {- or two – or more……}Blueberry Oat Yogurt Muffins and that is what you get with Donna’s muffins. I changed the recipe just a little so I could actually enjoy them. I subbed out some whole wheat flour and used Stevia instead of sugar. My other changes are listed below.


    1 cup self-raising (self-rising) flour, sifted
    1 cup Whole Wheat Flour, sifted
    ⅔ cup Stevia
    1 egg, lightly beaten
    1/2 cup Eggbeaters.
    ¾ cup applesauce, unsweetened
    ½ cup low fat regular yoghurt
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    ⅓ cup rolled oats, plus extra, for sprinkling
    1 cup fresh blueberries {Briefly shake in some flour to prevent from ‘sinking’}
    Turbinado sugar for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 350°F. Mix together the flour, sugar, egg, oil, yoghurt and vanilla until they are just well mixed. Gently fold in the oats and blueberries. Pour the mix into a regular muffin pan. Sprinkle with extra oats and sugar. Bake for 25–30 minutes or until golden and a knife or skewer comes out clean. Place muffins on a wire rack and allow to cool. Makes 12. {Original recipe}


These were quite good. Not real sweet but chewing and filling. If my blueberries had been sweeter they would have been even better. These were my pick for Wednesdays with Donna Hay.

Check the muffins made by

BTW the reason I changed up the recipe is because Doc Amy told me my Triglycerides are WAY too high and since I want to live to a ripe old age….
Any way, here’s the count per muffin {ABOUT}

    108 calories
    18 gm cholesterol
    1 gm fat
    2 gm fiber
    4 gm protein
    61 gm sodium
    3 gm sugar