This week’s recipe, chosen by Chaya, was not one that would even have been on my radar. Because it called for white beans. I simply do not like beans and peas that are soft. Black eyed peas. Crowder peas, Red beans. White beans. YUCK!! So I almost skipped this one just because of the beans. I KNEW I wouldn’t like it.

    I. Was. Wrong!


Wrong! Wrong! Wrong! So thank you, Chaya, for once again broadening my food horizons.

What we have here is a mix of cooked quinoa, brocalli, bacon (duh!), basil, mashed white beans, seasonings, and cheese. Then fried. How could this be wrong? The bacon and brocalli definitely cover the taste, and texture, of the beans which serve only as a filler. I am glad I didn’t make but 1/2 of the recipe because I could easily fill up on these. Easily!!

You can find the recipe on Donna’s website.And after you read the recipe check with


      who made hers with Couscous.


and see how they liked the fritters.