Today is Monday. The thrid Monday of the month. So you kow what that means. SECRET RECIPE CLUB REVEAL!! Always a fun day. This month I was fortunate enough to be ‘assigned’ Rachel’s Blog The Avid Appetite. According to her short self description,

    A few years ago I could barely boil water.

Well, after reading through her blog and her gret collection of recipes and kitchen adventures I think she is LONG past that part of her life. So. Many. Good. Things. Way too many to try for just SRC. So after picking my way through lots and lots I ended up with Three quick tasty treats.

Starting with her Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie for Breakfast and ending with a quinoa dish for dinner. But lets not get ahead of ourselves.

BREAKFASTP1040933-001Rachel says if you don’t like Sweet Potatoes don’t try this one. And she is rght. It is a major flavor. And very simple. But you have to think ahead because the small sweet potato has to be cooked and cooled first. Then you just mix that with 1 C milk, 1/2 frozen banana
1 packet sweetener of your choice and a 1/2 = 3/4 Tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice. Run it all through the blender with some ice cubes. Breakfast!

I needed something really quick for LUNCH one day. bingo – Rachel to the rescue.


Skillet Tortilla Pizzas.

    1 8″ tortilla {I found these great low cholesterol tortillas at W-M by Ole Mexican Food – Sundried Tomato)
    1/4 C pizza sauce (easily spread with a pastry brush)
    1/4 cup cooked sausage and/or sauteed mushrooms.
    1/4 C Cheese of your choice {I used Fiesta Blend}
    2 tsp grated parmesean cheese
    2 tsp light butter

Lightly butter both sides of the tortilla and lay in a skillet over medium heat. When bottom starts to brown, flip it over.
Spread with the pizza sauce, cheeses, and other ingredients. Top with Parmesan.


Making these little pizzas gave me a chance to use a little tool I found in My Mom-n-Laws kitchen. P1040927 It made cutting up the cooked sausage so easy.

And then for DINNER I added Rachel’s


Mediterranean Quinoa

    2 C low sodium chicken broth (I used Veggie broth)
    1 C dry quinoa, rinsed
    1/3 C kalamata olives
    1 tomato, seeds removed & diced
    juice of 1/2 lemon
    2 handfuls baby spinach
    7 Spice {Found this at a local mid-eastern market: allspice, cinnamon, cloves, cumin, corieander, caraway, nutmeg}
    salt and pepper, to taste

Place the chicken broth (+ water) and quinoa in a small saucepan over high heat. Once boiling, stir, reduce heat to simmer and cover. Cook for 12 minutes.
After 12 minutes, stir in, olives, tomato, lemon, and spinach. Cover and cook 3 minutes more. Season with salt, pepper, and spice to taste. Serve warm.

The 7 Spice really added some good Mediterranean Flavor. I served it with some baked fish and it was perfect since I added a little 7 Spice to the fish coating. YUM!!

Now – about those other other recipes I have marked:

Thanks, Rachel, for some great tastes. I’m looking forward to some more of your recipes. And I reall think you ARE a long ways past BOILING WATER!!!!

Want to know what the other Group C members made for SRC. Check out these posts!