This week it was my turn again to pick the recipe for the Wednesday with Donna Hay gals. I really wanted to do something different. Something I would never make under ordinary circumstances. Cooking with the other three ladies – Gaye, Chaya, and Sarah – I try to not to pick the ordinary. So this time I went with:


Anchovies have never been an item on any of my menus – or Pizzas – so this recipe of Donna Hay really caught my attention. Even if you don’t care much for the salty little fishies you really need to try out this tart. The onions, black olives, and Parm cheese really blend together well and the little fishies add another layer of flavor that adds saltiness but not fishy-ness. The onions are slightly caramelized, mixed with brown sugar and Balsamic vinegar and then piled on some puff pastry and topped with the olives, thyme, and anchovies. The Parm cheese forms a nice foundation.

I have to tell you – these were GOOD!!! Lots and lots of flavor. No changes to be made. Except—I think next time I would use shredded Parm rather than grated.

Go visit with

    Sarah, and
    Gaye and see if they liked my pick this week.

    You can find the recipe on Donna’s website. And on page 170 of Modern Classics: Book 1

    AND…if you would like cook/bake along with us we are using the recipes from Donna’s website and from this cookbook. No pressure. We just cook and bake and blog.