This week we are making Bread with Nigel Slater. I used a bread recipe of his earlier this year hen we went on a group picnic. I decided to use the same recipe again but to make something different with it. So go back and pick up the recipe and then make these…


    Maple Syrup walnut Pecan Buns.

I have been making cinnamon rolls for a long time – always trying to make them as delicious as my Mom-in-Law’s – but I would not have thought to make them without cinnamon. These use Maple syrup instead which is poured over the buns after they are baked. I like this idea because I never really cared for the powdered sugar drizzle. The syrup works its way down to the bottom of the pan and then is soaked up into the buns – a good reason to maybe DOUBLE the amount of syrup. I used pecans because we are not walnut fans and I ALWAYS have pecans in the freezer {friends with trees}.

I made 1/2 of the dough recipe and it was more than enough. I had enough left over to make some plain bread rolls.

Spread the dough with a mix of:

    7 Tbl butter (100g), softened
    1/2 cup pecans {65g}
    grated zest of an orange
    raisins 75g {I Left these out but thought about using dried cranberries.}

When baked and still hot pour 1/2 cup maple syrup {100ml} over them. Oh Yeah!!

These were so good with the orange zest mixed into the butter with the pecans. {I would add more pecans next time.}

They didn’t last long.

What BREAD did the other members of I Heart Cooking Club make? Check out their posts.