The days are cooling down now here in the Deep South and while it’s not quite as cool as I would like it to be it is cool enough to start adding soups and stews to the weekly menus. How fortunate that this week I Heart Cooking Clubs is doing Nigel’s Soups and Stews.


    400 grams potatoes, peeled halved or quartered.
    1 onion
    500 mls (2 cups) water
    500 mls (2 cups) milk
    400 gms mixed fresh fish, chopped into large cubes
    2 Bay leaves
    1 cup corn kernels
    2 green onions
    Salt and Pepper to taste

Peel and roughly chop an onion into a large deep pan.
Add the water, milk, pepper, salt, and bay leaves and bring to the boil.
Lower the heat so the liquid simmers and, when the potatoes are soft, add the fish.
Continue to cook on a low heat for 10 minutes.
Add the corn.
Roughly chop two green onions and a small bunch of parsley, and stir them into the soup carefully, without breaking up the fish, then serve as soon as the corn is tender.

This is basically Nigel’s recipe but I did make some changes. I added about 1 Tbl of salt which he did not have in the recipe. I also thickened the soup with some corn starch. The soup was very thin for the ingredients so the thickening made it quite filling. {The next time I would smash some of the potatoes in the soup before adding the other ingredients.}Nigel suggests haddock, salmon, and cod. I used catfish (I DO live in the south!) and cod. I think salmon would have been excellent in the soup – if I had only had some.

And some crusty bread would have been good, too.

Nigel’s original recipe is HERE.

And for the rest of the visit IHCC Ladle It Up!