Making strudel, danish, Challah is, to me, a fun way to spend time in the kitchen. This tasty treat from KAF is not exception. Full of apples and cinnamon it is perfect for breakfast or snack or dessert or…anything!


The recipe starts out like cinnamon rolls. Roll out the dough, cover with the filling and then roll up and slice. But after rolling the dough, which was wonderfully soft with the added potato flakes and butter, and filling it with the apple and cinnamon, which I doubled, you slice it in half and then slice it in half horizontally and twist the two pieces together. While messy to work with it looks beautiful and tastes fantastic.

I basically adhered to the recipe except I doubled the cinnamon and and then 1/2 again as much apple mix on each roll. They seemed rather empty with just what was called for. I think I would add some pecans next time.

Hint: if you are using flour I would suggest draining the mix in a sieve before using – it is very wet.

One is already gone the other is in the freezer waiting for company and breakfast.


The other Twists can be found on the ABC page after October 3. Visit with them and see their beautiful twists.

And the recipe is on the King Arthur Flour page.