This week IHCC says CHEERIO to Nigel Slater. It has been an interesting 6 months with his recipes. I didn’t get to participate every week but I did most of the ‘themes’ and ended up with some great recipes to add to my cycle. I couldn’t decide which recipe to use for our fond farewell so I went with something very simple – James’ Tortilla for One


    1 Tbl butter + 1/2 tsp oil
    1 medium potato, unpeeled, shredded I used some hashbrown because I discovered NO TATERS in the pantry!}
    1 shallot, finely chopped
    1 egg, beaten and seasoned
    salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter and oil in a small {mine was 7″} skillet.
Add in potatoes and fry on medium heat until light brown. Lightly season with salt and pepper.
Add in shallots and continue to brown
Add in egg and cook for about 3 minutes until it puffs around the outside but still a little loose in the middle.
Briefly run under a broiler until set – about 45 seconds.
DONE! Breakfast for ONE!!

Simple, tasty, and open to all kinds of variations. It would be great with a little cheese added in. Or maybe some crumbled bacon. Or peppers and ‘shrooms!!

The original recipe is on Nigel’s webpage. from a collection of recipes he has made in his kitchen and photographed with his phone.

How did the rest of the group say Farewell to Nigel. Check it out on I Heart Cooking Clubs.

Our new Chef for the next 6 months is Diana Henry. Lots of good food there!

If you want to join in the fun just visit the IHCC webpage and follow the themes for Diana.