I see recipes for pad thai everywhere. I have been wanting to try it but kept putting it off. So when it was my turn to pick a recipe for Wednesdays with Donna Hay it seemed like an omen when I found her recipe for it. No more putting it off.


All you need is some chicken, rice noodles, shrimp sauce, fish sauce, and bean sprouts, basically. Tossed with some brown sugar and lime juice. Garnished with chives and chopped peanuts. Less than 30 minutes from chopping to plate.

As you know, because I have said it ad nauseam, it is hard to find some ingredients here in Podunk. Like Shrimp Paste. even in our small Asian grocery. So I had to leave it out. But since I just made 1/2 of a serving and all it needed was 1/2 tsp maybe it didn’t make THAT much difference. Anyway. It was okay. I subbed crushed red pepper for the chillies {no likee} but that was the only change I made. I think I really needed to brown my chicken a little more. And I will find some Shrimp Paste.

The recipe is on page 133 of Donna’s modern classics: book 1

Check with Gaye, Sarah, and Chaya for their pad thai.
NB: BTW those chopsticks. My Dad brought them back from Korea in 1953.