I know I haven’t been here since we started a new chef but life has been crazy. So many directions we have had to take. I knew, to keep my sanity, I would have to slow down, breathe, and cook!! So I managed to fit in this Weeks Mystery Box Madness!! for IHCC. What is that, you ask. Well, once a month (and this a new treat with he group) we are given a list of ingredients. We pick one of our past/present chefs, pick at least three of the ingredients and and then cook or bake using them. This month we had:

    rolled oats
    coconut milk
    hot peppers/chiles

Interesting mix, but in there I saw the makings of a curry. And I am always open to a curry. And Donna Hay had a perfect one to try.


    Chicken Poached in Coconut Curry

As usual, Donna’s recipe was quick and easy.

    3 Tbl red CURRY paste
    6 chicken thighs, halved
    2 cups chopped sweet potatoes
    2 cups chicken stock
    1 1/2 cups COCONUT MILK
    1/4 cup cilantro leaves
    1/4 tsp dried CHILI flakes {I added this for a little heat}

Place the curry paste in a frying pan over medium-high heat and cook for 1 to 2 minutes or until fragrant.
Add the chicken and sweet potato to the pan and cook for another 2 minutes.
Add the stock and coconut milk and reduce heat to low.
Allow to simmer gently for about 12 minutes {Mine took about 20 minutes} until chicken and sweet potato are cooked.
Serve over steamed rice sprinkled with the cilantro leaves. Instead of steamed rice, I used COUSCOUS So I managed to just get in four ingredients. Maybe the chilis were a cheat!!??

Overall it wasn’t bad. I like the mix of the chicken and the sweet potato. It is not a combo I would have thought of.

The recipe is from Donna’s new food fast and is on page 67.

Since every member of this group is creative I am anxious to see what their MYSTERY dish contained. Click on over the IHCC for their finds.