I will be the first to admit I am easily distracted. If I am cooking or baking I really have to focus. If I don’t then I end up – not so much anymore – with Black overly browned food. Needless to say when I saw the words Brown-Butter I was a little leery. I mean, BROWN butter. Not BLACK butter. Not OVERLY BROWNED butter. Just BROWN enough to give a nice nutty flavor. As Dorie admonished “….a fine line between brown butter and burned butter,…” So I stayed with it. Kept it on low heat and ended up with PERFECT Brown Butter to make this nice not too sweet cake.


Besides the BROWN butter there is Vanilla Bean and Rum (if you wish) to flavor this cake which is the perfect foil for ice cream or whipped cream, or caramel sauce.



We liked this nice little ‘weekend’ cake. I think I would add a smidgeon more rum next time and I wish I had had some vanilla beans. The vanilla extract was fine but not as flavorful as the bean.

The recipe for this cake is on page 6 of Dorie’s baking chez moi, which you really need to have on your cookbook shelf.

And for the rest of the Dorista’s cakes visit with them at Tuesdays with Dorie and see if they liked it as well.