When I was growing up I was not a vegetable eater. I guess most kids aren’t. My Dad wasn’t much of one either. But there were a few I really liked. Broccoli, strange for a kid. Corn, duh! Cauliflower. My salad usually consisted of lettuce and mayo, Ugh!! That was it. No peas. No greens. Since then my tastes have changed. But I still like my old standbys. And this dish with tons of cauliflower was right up my alley.


What we have here is a layer of sliced cauliflower with dollops of caramelized onion covered with Fontina cheese sprinkled with fried sage and Parmesan. I mean really, can you think of a better way to eat cauliflower?

The original recipe, which came from Donna Hay’s Magazine (Dec/Jan15), called for “store-bought caramelized onion relish”. Not something easily found so I caramelized my own with a recipe from Simply Recipes. {If you have an hour free, this is the recipe to use.}

This was Gaye’s pick for this week’s Wednesday with Donna Hay. I hope the others liked it as much as I did. You can check out everyone’s cauliflower dish on our Blog.

And if you would like to join us – we are using Donna’s website, magazine, and several of her books for the recipes. Just leave us a comment. Love to have you!