You make a Roux!

That is how so many good Southern, especially Louisiana, recipes begin. And make sure you have the Trinity – celery, onion, bell pepper – handy. And that is exactly what Ellie did with this healthier version on Shrimp Creole.

    My PaPa…


    …was Acadian French from South Louisiana and his creoles, gumbos, etouffees were fantastic. I learned from him and have been using his recipes for years.

But I tried Ellie’s and it was pretty good. Spicy! And really NOT that much different from PaPa’s.

Canola instead of shortening. Tabasco instead of Cayenne. A little less roux. And I don’t remember him ever putting spinach in the creole!

I was pleasantly surprised.


This could just become my new creole recipe. Sorry, PaPa.

How did the rest of the Eating with Ellie group like Gaye’s pick of Shrimp Creole? Visit our EwE group site and find out.

The reicpe is on page 184 in Ellie’s Weeknight Wonders