If I crave anything it is usually Pizza. I don’t know why. Maybe because I don’t get to have it very often. But I do love it. Usually it is full of sauce and cheese and lots and lots of calories. But then Bittman gets into the act and suddenly I can have a nice healthy pizza anytime I want.


What we have here is a No-Work Mostly Whole Wheat Pizza Dough
Chewy! Lots of healthy toppings. Chewy! I love a chewy crust and I really don’t care for lots of tomato sauce so I simply left it off. Call it the “artisan” in me but you get so much more flavor when there is no sauce.

    2 cups whole wheat flour
    1 cup AP or Bread Flour
    1/2 tsp instant yeast
    1 tsp salt
    2 or 3 tsp Italian seasoning
    2 Tbl olive oil, plus more for greasing.

Mix together the flours, yeast, Italian seasoning, and salt in a large bowl. Stir in l 1/2 – 1 3/4 cups water.
You will have a relatively sticky and wet dough, like biscuit batter. If it’s two dry you can add a little more water {which is why I put a range of water}.
Scrape down the sides of the bowl, cover, and put it in a warm spot for at least 6 hours but up to 12 hours. {More hours = more complex flavor.}
Heat the oven to 500C. Generously oil a baking sheet or large ovenproof skillet. Dust your hands with a little white flour and lightly fold the dough over in the bowl a few times. It will be sticky, but resist the urge to use too much flour; dust your hands again only when absolutely necessary. You can make one large pizza or divide the dough into 1/2 or quarters for smaller ones. Gently, you don’t want to tear the dough, Press the dough into an oven proof skillet or baking sheet;.
Brush or drizzle the top of the pizza or pizzas with 2 tablespoons oil, cover, and let sit while you get the toppings together, but no more than 60 minutes or so. Toppings can be just about anything you want.

    roasted red pepper
    black olives
    Mozzarella Cheese

So Colorful!!

The addition of the Italian seasoning added more flavor to the pizza since there was no sauce where the seasoning usually is. (Does that make sense?) The amount of the fillings are up to your tastes. You caould also add goat cheese or ricotta. Anchovies or Sardines. Broccoli or cauliflower. It’s your choice.


The recipe is from Bittman’s The Food Matters Cookbook on page 533.

For more Potluck dishes visit I Heart Cooking Club