One of the reasons I learned to cook was to be able to enjoy different dishes I have had in restaurants or heard about from friends. But I am also trying to eat healthier. Those two often don’t go together. Unless you cook with Ellie Krieger. I have often wanted to make shrimp pad thai but haven’t gotten around to it yet. While this ISN’T the pad thai I had in mind it is not bad. Regular pad thai is served hot after stir-frying most of the ingredients together. THIS, however, is a SALAD and served cold. All the same ingredients: fish sauce, sugar, sriracha, rice noodles, shrimp, bean sprouts, peanuts, etc but cold.


While it was tasty it just wasn’t what I was expecting and I really don’t like it enough to make it again. Sorry, Glennis {her pick this week}, but just not a fave here.

You can find the recipe on page 48 of Ellie’s Weeknight Wonders.

ANd see if the others liked the pad thai salad by visiting our ‘meeting place‘.

If you would like to join us cooking through Ellie’s book just leave a comment with one of us. The recipe picks are on the right side of the page and the dates we are blogging about them. Come join in the fun!