Summer is usually the season for lots and lots of salads. There is plenty of fresh veggies to add to that bowl of lettuce or greens. So, when the IHCC theme came up SALADS {and Vinegrettes} I knew there would be some good dishes to be had. As it turns out, my salad is NOT made with bunches of fresh veggies but bunches of spicy flavors and only two veggies – Savoy Cabbage and Carrots.Savoy cabbage is NOT easy to find in Podunk, USA. I thought I would have to use regular but at the FOURTH (and last) store….


Asian Dressing:

    2 Tbl rice wine vinegar
    1 1/2 TBL soy sauce
    1 TBL oyster sauce
    1/4 tsp Tabasco hot pepper sauce
    1 tsp sugar
    2 cloves garlic, peeled, crushed, and finely chopped (2 teaspoons)

Savoy Salad

    1/2 pound tender savoy cabbage leaves, with tough lower part of central ribs removed and discarded, leaves finely shredded (about 6 cups, lightly packed)
    1/2 cup julienned carrot strips

Combine the dressing ingredients in a plastic bag large enough to hold the cabbage.
Add the cabbage, toss it with the dressing, and allow the mixture to marinate for about 2 hours.
Transfer the salad and dressing to a serving bowl, sprinkle with the carrot.Recipe is from Jacques Pepin’s Table page 296

This was spicy. I think I liked it, but I’m not quite sure yet. It would be a great side with a sweet chicken dish. The heat and the sour from the salad would balance out the sweet. I made the full dressing recipe but only used about 1/4 of the cabbage. Good thing because the cabbage really soaked up the dressing.

What other salads are on the I Heart Cooking Clubs’ salad buffet? Check them out!