You can tell fall is in people’s thoughts now. Summer is winding down, the temps are, in some places {NOT the Deep South much}, cooling just a smidgen, pumpkin recipes are popping up everywhere. And sweet potatoes, too. This recipe of Ellie’s is just right for autumn thoughts.


Diced sweet potatoes steamed and then mashed with apple cider {Juice because I couldn’t find cider}, nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, and a little butter.

I didn’t mash mine as much as Ellie suggested. I left mine with some nice little chunks.

It was good. I was thinking how good it would have been with some spiced pecans or praline pecans. Next time. Not QUITE as healthy. I bet the other “Eaters” liked Peggy’s choice as well. You can find out by checking in at the Eating with Ellie blog.

If you would like to join us the recipes from Weeknight Wonders are listed with the page numbers. Cook. Blog. Share.