The theme this week for I Heart Cooking Clubs is “Plate of the Day” or Le Plat du Jour. It means we can make just about anything special that we could serve. While special is not the word that comes to mind I did choose something I don’t think I would make everyday.


Darphin Potatoes are what Americans could call Hash Browns. But better! Mixed with green onions/scallions they are delicious, but not so easy to make. Pepin’s were nice and flat and crispy and brown. Mine – not so much. The first time I made them they were more blackish than brown, but crispy, and stuck in my non-stick pan!! :\

The next time they were not brown enough but tasty. I made 1/2 of the recipe in an 8″ black skillet. I will keep trying!

    3 baking (Idaho) potatoes (about 8 ounces each)
    2 tablespoons corn oil
    1 tablespoon unsalted butter
    4 scallions, trimmed (leaving some green) and minced (1/2 cup)
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

After peeling the potatoes shred them on the large holes of your grater.
Squeeze as much liquid out as you can. Mix the potatoes with the scallions, salt, and pepper.
Heat the oil and butter in your skillet {He used 10″/12″}until hot. Add in the potatoe mix. Press the mixture into the skillet to compact it.
Cook for about 12 minutes (more or less depending on your heat, but check them) over medium heat. Flip the ‘cake’ over {I did this by inverting onto a plate and then sliding back into the pan.} and cook for another 10 minutes or so until crisp and brown.
Invert it onto a serving plate, cut into wedges, and serve.

These were very good but harder to make than I thought. I needed to cook them a little longer. NOT as long as the first time, but longer. Every stove is different. Mine is just hateful!

What other plates are on the Daily Buffet?