Last week we said good bye to Chef Pepin. This week we are saying hello to our new chef – Ellie Krieger. In case you don’t know her already you can see her Bio HERE! We will be cooking with her for the next six months. And that is exciting. I was introduced to Ellie’s wonderfully tasty and healthy recipes almost 6 years ago when I joined Craving Ellie in my Belly. That group is now defunct but I loved the first dish I made – Peach French Toast Bake and I’ve never looked back. And now I get to cook with Ellie twice a week because, with 6 other ladies, I am cooking my way through Ellie’s newest book Weeknight Wonders over at Eating with Ellie.. Twice a WEEK!! That’s what I call good times!

I’ve had my eye on several Ellie Dishes so I figured I would use one of those to introduce Ellie Krieger.


This is her Mushroom, Onion, and Gruyere Quiche with Oat Crust

The crust is made with rolled oats, butter, and buttermilk and just a pinch of flour. And it is wonderfully crispy and tasty. The crust is layered with shredded Gruyere cheese and then piled with mixed mushrooms before being covered with an egg/milk mix. Talk about good. It was hard NOT to eat the WHOLE thing!


    Cooking spray
    3/4 cup rolled oats
    1/2 cup all-purpose flour
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    3 tablespoons cold, unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
    3 tablespoons cold, lowfat buttermilk


    4 teaspoons olive oil
    1 medium onion, sliced thinly into half moons
    4 ounces sliced mixed mushrooms, such as cremini, oyster, shiitake {I used button and a “Forest Blend” of dried ‘shrooms.}
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
    1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves (or 1 teaspoon dry)
    3 large eggs
    2 egg whites
    1 1/2cup low-fat 1% milk
    3 Tbl AP flour
    3/4 cup grated Gruyere cheese (about 1-ounce)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Spray a 9-inch pie dish with cooking spray.

Process the oats, flour, and salt in the bowl of a food processor and pulse 3 times to combine. Add the butter and pulse until you get a pebbly course texture. Add the buttermilk and pulse until the mix comes together. Form the mixture into a disc and chill for about 45 minutes.Place it between 2 pieces of parchment paper and roll out into a circle about 10 inches in diameter. {As you can see I made mine in a rectangular tart pan so I had to roll it out differently and then patch it here and there.}

Remove the top sheet of waxed paper. Transfer the crust, still on the other piece of waxed paper to the pie dish, then remove the waxed paper from the top. Press the crust gently into the dish. Bake for 9 minutes, then let cool. {I completely missed this part about pre-baking but it came out just fine!}

To prepare the filling, heat 2 teaspoons of oil in a large nonstick pan over a medium-low heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until golden brown and caramelized, about 20 minutes. Add the remaining 2 teaspoons of oil to the pan and heat over a medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and cook, stirring occasionally, until they have released their water and begin to brown, about 6 minutes. Stir in the salt, pepper, mustard, and thyme.

In a medium bowl whisk together the eggs, egg whites, flour, and milk.

Sprinkle the cheese into the pie crust. Top with the mushroom-onion mixture and pour the egg mixture on top. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees F. Bake for 35 minutes or until knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let stand for 5 minutes before cutting into 6 wedges and serving.

I was wondering why Ellie had the cheese sprinkled on the bottom. Usually it is mixed in. But then I took my first bite and the first flavor was the smokey Gruyere I used and THEN the mushrooms. Perfect! And lots of ‘shroom flavor.

Definitely a repeat.


The recipe is on page 23 of Ellie’s Comfort Food Fix and a different version on FoodTV

See how the others welcomed Ellie over at I Heart Cooking Clubs