This week’s theme with I Heart Cooking Clubs is ORANGE!

It’s not really hard finding orange foods today – oranges, carrots, pumpkin, butternut squash, papaya, peppers, cantaloupe, Cheetos. What’s hard is finding just the right recipe at just the right season to make a really good dish. {I really wanted to find a cute Cheeto recipe, but….!} Here in the South it is sweet potato season. And it is almost pecan pie season {IS there as season for pecan pie?} so why not combine both in Ellie’s Pecan Pie. Which is more of a sweet potato pie with pecans added on.


    1/2 cup mashed cooked sweet potato (about 1/2 medium sweet potato)
    1/2 cup dark brown sugar
    1/2 cup dark brown corn syrup
    1/3 cup fat-free evaporated milk
    2 large eggs
    1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1 large egg white
    1 1/2 cups pecan halves
    1 cup whipped cream,optional

Whisk (I used my blender) together the first seven ingredients until smooth.
Brush the crust edges with the egg white.
Pour filling into the crust and sprinkle with the pecan halves.
Bake for 50 – 55 minutes or until the center is set at 350 degrees.

The recipe is from Ellie’s Comfort Food Fix, page 277.

Ellie used her Better Basic Pie Crust, so I did, too. It used Whole Wheat Pastry flour and less butter. You can find the recipe HERE!

I knew we didn’t need a whole 9″ pie so I made a 6″ deep dish – thinking I would have filling left over. NOPE!!

For the rest of the ORANGE FOOD visit IHCC.