What is it about ‘mini’ things that simply make them more ‘wantable’? It’s the attractiveness, food wise anyway, of a sweet treat that is small and, therefore, calorie affordable. {As if with Dorie that really matters!} Like these ‘mini’ apple pies from Dorie’s Baking Chez Moi


Two bites, okay, three…, of sweet apple-ly deliciousness.

Thankfully, Dorie did give us permission to play with these. I had some canned pears from our garden so I used those. And, instead of raisins, I used dried cranberries. I liked the little bit of sharp with the sweetness of the pears.

These are definitely more fun to eat and make than a regular apple pie. And the Galette Dough is infinitely more usable than a regular pie dough. {My tip here is to make sure your dough STAYS cold because otherwise it shrinks when you fit the rounds into the muffin tin.}

Pielette recipe is on page 123
Galette Dough recipe is on page 420

Check out the other Pielettes at Baking Chez Moi