Are you tired of the same ol’ same ol’ fried chicken breasts? So was I. So I tried a new recipe from Donna Hay. And I could do that because it is POTLUCK week with I heart cooking clubs. Good idea!


The chicken is crispy and the coating is similar to a tempura because of the lightness of the rice flour. It’s all good!

    3 chicken breast fillets
    2 egg whites, lightly beaten
    2 tablespoons fine rice flour
    2 red chillies, chopped {or dried red pepper seeds}
    3 tablespoons chopped coriander (cilantro) leaves
    4 kaffir lime leaves, shredded
    3 tablespoons sesame seeds
    2-3 tablespoons peanut oil
    watercress sprigs, to serve

Slice the breast in half into a thinner fillet and then cut those in half. Combine the chicken with the egg whites, chilli, coriander, lime leaves and sesame seeds in a bowl. Heat a frying pan with the oil over medium heat. Dredge the chicken in the flour mixture. Fry until golden and cooked through {about 3 – 5 minutes each side}. Drain on absorbent paper. Serves 4.

Dipping Sauce

    3 tablespoons soy sauce
    2 tablespoons lemon juice
    1 tablespoon brown sugar

Mix the soy, lemon juice and sugar in a bowl and mix to combine.

This is the first time I have used the kaffir lime leaves because this is the first time I have actually found any. Yay me! You can taste lime when you bite into them, DOH! and then the slight bitterness of the fresh coriander. These were really good! Or they would have been if they had had just a little more flavor. I would definitely advise using just a tad of salt to bring out the other flavors.

The original recipe is on page 116 of Donna’s off the shelf and I found it on her website.

What else is for Potluck this week? Check with IHCC.