Several years ago I marked a recipe for this soup that I really wanted to make.  And never did.  In fact I completely forgot about it.  Until I was looking thru Donna’s modern classics.


Admittedly it’s not the original recipe I found but it was quite tasty.  And filling.  I was so afraid it would be rather bland since the only flavors added were sliced garlic, pepper, and basil leaves but I worried for nothing.

Donna called for wood fired bread, not gonna happen unless I build an outdoor oven, and over ripe tomatoes.  I had some good crusty bread in the freezer and some canned tomatoes.  Since the tomatoes had already been peeled and canned they worked out perfectly.

I only made 1/2 of the recipe but that was enough for 3 nice servings.  Next time I will make more.

Want to see more soup – visit Wednesdays with Donna Hay to see how the others liked my pick for this week.

The recipe is on page 24 of modern classics.  I also found it online if you want to try it out, too.