We are definitely meat eaters. It is seldom we have meatless meals. Even our soups usually have some kind of meat – beef, venison, chicken, fish.

So I was excited to see Peggy’s choice for this week’s Eating with Ellie – sloppy joes with out the beef.


I liked these but I did’t love them. I think I may have chopped my mushrooms a little too tiny. The flavor was very intense.  Chili powder, molasses, cider vinegar, and mustard powder all come together with tomato sauce to give the mushrooms that basic spicy sloppy joes flavor.

I left out the pinto beans Ellie called for because I am just NOT a bean eater.  I think some cheese would be good on these.

So much better, though, than the canned.  Thanks Peggy.  I’ll try these again with bigger pieces.

Who else made these this week?  Check out Eating with Ellie to see.