This weekend my ladies dinner group enjoyed High Tea at “Ortigo Abbey”.  We were celebrating the new, and last, season of  Downton Abbey.


We started with soup.  Then came the sandwiches, including the mandatory cucumber ones.  Then we had some hot buttered scones, from an Edwardian cookbook, with Clotted Cream followed by the sweet treats.  This is where Donna comes in.  I needed something bite sized and chocolate.  Something decadent seemed reasonable.   I found her Chocolate Truffle Cakes in Flavours.


They did not come out nearly as pretty as Donna’s but they were very tasty, very chocolate-y and now they are very gone.

  • 300g  (10 oz) dark chocolate, chopped
  • 150g butter
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla flavoring
  • 4 Tbl sugar


  • 200g  (6 1/2 oz) dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1cup cream
  • 85g ( 3 oz) butter
  1. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees F (170C).
  2. Line base of eight 1 cup (8 fl oz) capacity non-stick muffin tins with non-stick baking paper. {Since I needed bite sized I used a mini-muffin tin.  I ended up with 32 minis}
  3. Place chocolate and butter in a saucepan (absolutely dry) and stir over low heat till melted and smooth.
  4. Place the egg, vanilla and sugar in the bowl of a mixer and beat until thick and pale.
  5. Stir through the chocolate mixture.
  6. Spoon the mixture into muffin tins and bake for 12-15 minutes or until the cakes are just set.
  7. Cool in the tins and refrigerate for 2 hours.
  8. To make the glaze, place the chocolate, cream and butter in a saucepan over low heat and mix till smooth.
  9. Chill the glaze til it is firm.
  10. Unmold the cakes onto serving plates and spread with the glaze.

My glaze wasn’t as smooth as I would have liked so I topped the mini mouthwatering treats with powdered sugar.  They were very rich. and no one complained that they were rather ugly.

The recipe is on page 124 of Donna’s flavours.  (and several places on the web)

BTW it was POTLUCK week for I Heart Cooking Clubs.