Who said salad has to made from greens or pasta?  What about rice?  Brown rice?  When Kayte chose Sensational Salads for this weeks WWDH theme the first thought that came to mind was a GREEN salad.  And that is what I looked for – at first – but then I thought about pasta salad, potato salad, even fruit salad.  Rice never really entered my mind until I found Donna’s recipe with brown rice and salmon.


And I am so glad I did.  Full of Asian flavors, salmon, carrots.  It was wonderful.

Simply cook brown rice.  Mix it with some flaked salmon, shredded carrots and a dressing of mirin, sesame oil, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, and ginger and you have a lovely, filling, tasty salad suitable for lunch or dinner.

Donna’s recipe called for smoked salmon but I used some steamed salmon instead.  I also didn’t have the snow peas she called for but I didn’t miss them.  The salad is supposed to be served totally chilled but I am not a fan of cold rice so I served it warmed.  Good choice!

I will definitely make this one again.  Glad I made extra rice!

The recipe is on Donna’s website.

Did the others go green with salads?  Check our links.