This week he theme for Eating with Ellie is Seafood.  That covers a lot of territory.  Fish, shrimp, lobster, crawfish, even squid.  While I would have liked to have some calamari I decided to play it safe this week and go with some lovely salmon.


I’ve been eating a lot of salmon these past few weeks because of the fresh they have had available at a decent price, for a change.  It’s wild caught so it’s really good.

Ellie has this salmon baked in a Moroccan sauce flavored with cumin, coriander, cinnamon, and ginger.  The kitchen smelled so good!  I made 1/2 a batch and it was plenty for two meals.

The recipe called for Kale but I am not a fan so I subbed in some spinach.  The only change I would make would be to double the spices, or at least to increase them.  The flavor was a tad mild.  I cut them in 1/2 since I was making only 1/2 a batch.  I wish I had left the spices in for a whole batch.

But, it was good.

The recipe is on Ellie’s Blog.

Check out what else from the sea was cooked this week – Eating with Ellie.