There are several soups I order when we eat out.  A local cream of shrimp from The Cottage Restaurant.  The Queen’s Soup (wide rice and chicken)  from Atwood’s Bakery.  And Broccoli-Cheddar Soup from Panera. I don’t think they make any better soups anywhere than those three.  That being said, I have the shrimp soup recipe.  I’m working on the rice soup.  There are ton’s of copycats for the Panera soup.  But I needed to make something quick and didn’t have time to scan all of those recipes.  Lucky for me Chaya’s theme this week for Eating with Ellie was Cheesy Delights and some Broccoli-Cheddar soup was JUST what I wanted.


I thought it would be hard to make but it is super simple and super quick.

Saute some onions.  Add garlic and nutmeg.  Add broccoli and chicken broth.  Cook.  Mix milk and flour.  Mix in cheddar cheese.  Add to the broccoli mix.  BINGO! Soup!

While many of the soups you find in restaurants are high in calories, this one is only 320/serving.  Win/Win!

The recipe is on page 95 of Ellie’s comfort food fix.  Also ONLINE.

There are more cheesy delights over at Eating with Ellie. Click on over.

Because this has been an out of town week I am going to cheat just a little and also submit this to I Heart Cooking Clubs for the theme – Bowled Over!