We have had a non-winter winter here in the deep South.  I didn’t cook nearly as many gumbos, soups, or stews as I wanted.  For some reason those just seem like winter fare to me.  But last night was a little chilly so I took advantage and made this Shrimp stew.  

P1080706

It is simple to make.  All you need is:

2 pounds medium fresh shrimp, shells and heads on

6 cups water

1 yellow onion, quartered

2 dried bay leaves

1 tablespoon salt

½ cup vegetable oil

½ cup all-purpose flour

1 cup chopped yellow onion

½ cup chopped green bell pepper

½ cup chopped celery

¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

The recipe is on line so I won’t include it here.

This was sooooo good.  Lots of shrimp flavor in this one.  A lot of that is due to the fact that you make a shrimp stock using the shells, heads, onions, and bay leaves.  While the recipe called for water I used Seafood stock and added the ingredients to that instead of the water.

This is definitely a South Louisiana dish as it called for a serving of Cajun Potato Salad on the side.  But we are not fans of that mix so I served it with rice instead.  {If you want to try the Cajun Potato Salad the recipe is with the Stew recipe.}  I did make one change.  It seemed a little thin even with the roux {First – you make a roux!} so I added a little water/cornstarch slurry.  Next time I will simply make more roux. 

As soon as cool weather is back (about January here in the South} I will definitely make this again.

The recipe is on the Jan/Feb issue on page 63 but it is also online at Louisiana Cookin‘.

I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2) Foray.

cookbookcountdown

