Or so says Kermit. So many bad thoughts associated with green when it comes to food. Or at least for some. Green veggies are just a no-no! I have to admit I have not always been a green veggie lover, or veggie love period. But that has changed. These days I eat a lot of things I didn’t used to eat – okra, squash, squirrel. And there are some I still don’t – Brussels sprouts, avocado, any pea. But one I have added to my yes list is zucchini. I have learned to love it. We grow it in the garden so I am always looking for new ways to fix it.

Like these ZUCCHINI PARMESAN CRISPS from Ellie Krieger.


Basically it is slices of zucchini that have been tossed with olive oil and then dredged in a mix of grated Parm, bread crumbs and a little salt and pepper.  Easy!

Bake for about 20 – 25 minutes at 450 degrees and you have a nice tasty treat. They are only 105 calories and 6 g of fat for 1/2 of a medium zucchini.  Ellie said to bake until they are crispy and brown. They were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.  Perfect!

I would make a small change.  I would probably use  a little more Parm and maybe, maybe, a little Seasoned Salt rather than plain.  (Tony’s maybe!)

The recipe is on page 251 of Ellie’s The Food You Crave.  It’s also HERE!

This weeks theme for I Heart Cooking Clubs, in keeping with St. Patrick’s day, is GREEN EATING!