Easter is this Sunday. And, as usual, we have had our pre-Easter Cold Snap. To me that is always a good thing. I love Spring but I never look forward to the Summer weather here in the deep south. When we have our little Cold Snap I use that as one last chance to make soup, chilli, or stew. This year – soup, which was Chaya’s pick for Eating with Ellie this week.


Ellie’s curried butternut squash soup to be exact.

We still have butternut squash from our fall harvest. It keeps very well in the barn which stays cool and dark through about the end of April.

This soup is flavored with onions, garlic, honey, and curry powder. It is thick and full of flavor. I only made 1/2 of the recipe but I used the full amount of curry powder (1 Tbl + 2 tsp) because I love the deeper flavor and he added heat of the curry powder. This soup will definitely be seen in the kitchen next fall – AFTER the weather turns cool again – which is about mid October!

The recipe is from Ellie’s The Food You Crave.  page 78

For more soups visit Eating with Ellie to see what else is in the bowl this week.