This was our last week to cook ‘with’ Ellie Krieger for I Heart Cooking Clubs.  She has been our Chef since October.  It has been fun using her recipes.  This is not the first time I have cooked with Ellie.  There have been several groups who follow her and use her recipes year round.  (Like Eating with Ellie)

This week needed to be something special.  I still have several of her recipes marked in the cookbooks I have on the shelf.  This one has been marked for ages.


Chicken Parmesan

Imagine chicken breasts ‘fried’ in the oven with a spicy crusty coating then covered with a marinara sauce and then topped with melty mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. HEAVEN!!

I used some of the marinara sauce I made last year from our tomatoes (YUM!) and it was so good.  Lots of chunks of fresh tomatoes and just the right amount of seasoning (with less salt).  I did increase the amount of cheese because – why not?


I served it with a simple of side of buttered garlic noodles which mixed nicely with the ‘extra’ sauce on the plate.

Oh! Yeah!  Ellie was right, it did scream “you want me”.  And all that loveliness with only 390 calories (compared to the usual 630).

The recipe is on page 163 of Ellie’s Comfort Food Fix.

We will miss cooking with Ellie but you can see how the other members of I Heart Cooking Clubs said goodby.

Next month begins 6 months with Curtis Stone. Got my books and I’m ready to go.