April!  Time for another less used cookbook to hit the spotlight.  This month for Cookbook Countdown I am cooking through Thomas Keller’s ad hot at home .  I have had this book since 2011 when it was recommended by a good friend and fellow cook/baker.  I have made only two things from it:  meatballs with pappardelle and scallion potato cakes. Both were good but then I put the book away and haven’t opened it much since.  Big Mistake!  There are some wonderful recipes in it.  It is, therefore, a perfect candidate for the 4th {my third} month of Cookbook Countdown.  ENJOY!!

I started with something simple – Buttermilk Biscuits.  I have been using Dorie’s  Basic Biscuit recipe forever so it was time for something different.  Good Call!  There were buttery (2 sticks of butter)!  And flaky.  And delicious!  Enough butter IN the biscuit you don’t really need any butter ON the biscuit.  Yeah, RIGHT!!!


Keller says to cut them 2 1/2″ and you would end up with 12 biscuits about 3/4″ high.  I patted mine to 1/2 inch and ended up with 12 for only 1/2 of the recipe.  I knew I didn’t need lots of biscuits hanging around and thought 6 would be perfect.  Ah, well… Not going to toss them🙂

    2 cups each: self-raising cake & pastry flour, all-purpose flour

    1 tbsp + 1 tsp kosher salt

    1 tbsp baking powder

    1 tsp baking soda

    1 cup (1/2 lb/225 g) unsalted butter, cut into 1-tablespoon pieces, frozen

    1-1/2 cups buttermilk + 2 tbsp for brushing

    2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted, for brushing (optional)