Spring is HERE!!  And that means planting gardens, harvesting fresh veggies.  RAIN!!!  We have had our share and hve only just had enough dry days to plant part of our garden.  The corn is in.  The watermelon is in.  The ‘maters are planted.  The cucumbers, squash, and eggplant are in the wings.  Fortunately, for this week’s EwE choice my veggie is available year round (as are most these days).


How about Oven-Baked Onion Rings?  Crunchy without all the grease and all the mess of frying.  If I have a choice to go with a burger or sammie when we eat out it IS onion rings.  I love them.  And now I am happy to have a way to enjoy them and not feel guilty.

Ellie used baked potato chips for her crunch but I don’t buy them so I used some baked tortilla chips instead.  Yes, they were GOOD!!!  And easy to make so I don’t have to wait for a special occasion.  AS if…?

The recipe called for 1/2 cup + 2Tbl of flour.  The 2 Tbl goes in the batter.  I used a little more for the batter because I didn’t need the full 1/2 cup to coat the rings.  The batter was a little thin until I added the extra flour and stuck to the onions better.  I didn’t use any MORE flour than called for.

In case you are also a lover of onion rings one serving is ONLY 205 calories.which I know is LOTS less than the fried ones.

The recipe is from The Food You Crave – page 269.

More veggies?  Then visit Eating with Ellie.