These are tricky little devils, but well worth the watchful work.  Temp too high = burnt. Temp too low = soggy.  Chips too thin = burn quickly.  Chips to thick = soggy.  If you don’t get it JUST right…


I much prefer Sweet Potato Fries or Chips to regular potatoes..  They are sweet, lower in carbs, and better for you  Even if you fry them…..

All you have to do is slice a sweet potato – thin but not too thin – and fry them quickly.  Then sprinkle with Kosher salt.  DONE!!

My first batch burned quickly because I used the thinest setting on the Mandolin.  Way too thin.  The next setting was perfect but I had to cook them a little longer and really watch the heat because if it’s too hot…… cause if you fry them too long in too low heat they get greasy.

But I finally got it right.  And they were worth it.

The recipe is on page 232 of Keller’s ad hoc.

 “I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).