I remember the frozen pot pies mom used to serve for supper.  The crispy crust.  Lots of veggies (even tho’ I didn’t like the peas – and still don’t) and not a whole lot of meat.  Even after I was married I used to buy them because they were pretty good.  Funny thing is, Thomas Keller has the same memories which is why he developed his Chicken Pot Pie.


When I used to make pot pie i would simply thicken the broth the chicken and veggies had cooked in.  Keller uses a BECHAMEL sauce seasoned with parsley and thyme.  The chicken is shredded but the potatoes, celery, onions and carrots are nice and chunky which meant you could taste each one.  SO much better!  And the top comes out beautifully crispy and browned because of the egg wash.  


Definitely the recipe to use from now on.  It’s not hard to admit his ARE better than the frozen, but the memories are the same.  

The recipe is from Keller’s ad hoc at home.  (page 24).  I also found the recipe over at Friends. Food. Family

 “I’m linking this post with Cookbook Countdown hosted by Kitchen Flavours and Emily’s Cooking (Makan2).