I was a Brownie.  I was a Girl Scout.  In fact, in England, I was a Girl Guide.  That was a long time ago.  My son was a Cub Scout.  My daughter was a Girl Scout.  I don’t remember much about a lot of all that.  Too many years have passed.  But I do remember making Hobo Meals.  Do you?  You put your meat, veggies, seasonings in a foil bag and cook it on the coals of the campfire.  Ellie must have done that too.  


Instead of hamburger meat and small potatoes and onions she uses shrimp andouille sausage and veggies  Big difference.  This is the WELL-TO-DO Hobo!!

She also includes some Creole {My go-to is Tony Chacherie’s} seasoning, zucchini, and bell pepper along with parsley and basil.  I don’t think my Girl Scout leader was ever that well prepared.

I thought it was good, but not great.  I think I would add more shrimp next time and maybe a little less corn.

The recipe comes from Ellie’s newest book, You Have It Made   which is a collection of meals that can be made ahead and frozen so that you have it made, see how she did that, for the next meal. You can find the recipe at The Washington Post as well.

How did the other EATERS wrap it up this week?  Check out It’s in the Bag  We Eat with Ellie every Thursday.  CWant to cook with us?  Weekly Themes are listed on the right on Eating with Ellie.  Just cook, blog, and Leave your Link!