It’s time for another recipe from Curtis Stone  This week the IHCC theme is snacks or Something to eat on the Sofa..  I suppose anything can be a snack but when you look at a recipe and the beginning line is, “This is a great snack…”, it kinda solves a problem for you right off the bat.


How about a sandwich made with slices of mozzarella and basil leaves between think slices of eggplant and then DEEP FRIED!!!  Curtis named these Deep-Fried Eggplant and Mozzarella with Basil.  Yeah, it is as good as it sounds.  And even better…


…served with warm marinara sauce.  I think I am in heaven!  The melty cheese with the lovely flavor of basil.  YES!!!  YES!!!  YES!!! It was like having a mini pizza without the crust.  Well, if you like eggplant on your pizza which may now be a new thing in this house!

Make sure you slice your eggplant really thin.  Mine was a little thick so they began to limp-out on me after a few minutes.  They really would be better crispy.  But don’t skimp on the cheese.  You want all that melty flavory goodness.

I found this recipe in Curtis’ Cooking with Curtis  {page 49}and also on Take Home Chef.  

Check out more snacks on the I Heart Cooking Club