I think pasta is one of the most comforting types of food out there.  Thick and hearty sauces in the winter.  Served cold as a salad in the summer.  Pasta, or noodles, or pretty versatile.  That is why I chose PASTA as the theme for this weeks Eating with Ellie..


I picked the


whole-grain penne with chicken, mushrooms, and spinach

for this go-round.

It was filling and full of flavor. And healthy.  2 cups {which is more than you think!} is only 580 calories.

The ‘sauce’ (which I will make more of next time) was full of chicken, mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes, spinach, onions, garlic and Parmesan cheese.  You can imagine how good that was.  The reason I said I would make more is because I found it to be a trifle dry.  I made 1/2 of the recipe which was perfect for two servings.  I usually increase the sauce and am sorry I didn’t this time.  he whole dish is seasoned with a little salt and pepper, crushed red pepper, and fresh thyme (altho’ I had to used dried).

This one is from Ellie’s weeknight wonders and is on page 160.I also found the recipe HERE if you want to try it.  This is one of ellie krieger’s great collection of recipes all of which are ready in 30 minutes or less.

Since I had marked 10 pasta recipes I guess we will have to return to this theme a couple of more times.  So I can make the other 9 pasta dishes.

Check out what pasta dishes the other EATERS made this week.